ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:

Faulty Taito Space Invaders

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Haves1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Faulty Taito Space Invaders
    Posted: 05 May 2019 at 12:31pm
Hi all, my recently purchased working taito space invaders has lasted a few weeks and has gone faulty already. This is the one with that three board set I believe.

I'm new to arcades so not really sure where to start. I was intending to get the braze multigame set anyway, this comes with an fault check so not sure if this is still worthwhile.

- The machine powers up and monitor and fan work
- the screen just displays thin lines across it with a line of garbage text across the top.
- No controls work and there is no sound.

The guy I bought it from did recently have the board serviced and rams replaced. Having read a few posts I think it may be these again, are there any quick checks I can do?

Any pointers on where to start would be great.

Cheers
Chris

yorkshire_spam View Drop Down
User
User

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote yorkshire_spam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2019 at 1:23pm
I don't know anything specific to this board, but questions I would ask....

Have you checked the voltages at the PCB? Some of the ICs might rely on "odd" voltages being accurate.

What parts are socketed on the board? CPU? ROM? Ram? any of the logic?
Which of these do you have spares (tested? known good?) for?

What kit do you have? 
Soldering iron? Multimeter? Logic probe? 
Cheers, Sam
Lurch666 View Drop Down
User
User

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lurch666 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2019 at 2:28pm
Looks like the cpu is trying to run but failing.