ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - GUIDE: How to apply new vinyl artwork to your cab
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:

GUIDE: How to apply new vinyl artwork to your cab

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
muddymusic View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
The Repro Guy

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (11) Thanks(11)   Quote muddymusic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GUIDE: How to apply new vinyl artwork to your cab
    Posted: 17 Feb 2014 at 1:24pm
Since I started offering up the repro artwork I've had a few people ask me what the correct method of applying the artwork to their cabs should be, so I thought I'd write up this little guide to help. I'm no expert on this but these methods have worked for me many times now.

This will help you apply cpo's, side art and other decals on metal and plastic.

Kit you'll need

I've found the following tools to be extremely useful, and they aren't expensive so worth having in your tool box.

> A Vinyl Squeegee - I've found this 3M one to be perfect for my needs.
3M Squeegee - £2.99 delivered.

> A spray bottle with adjustable nozzle. Something like this.
Spray Bottle - £1.49

> A craft knife with a fresh blade - very important you use a clean blade as it ensures a clean trim of any artwork. I use one of these stanley knives, nice solid metal so you can put a good bit of force on it without it bending and segmented blades mean you can have a fresh blade for every time you use it.

> It's also useful to have a steel ruler and a cutting mat and also some microfibre cloths and Novus 1 for plastics, you'll also want some masking tape for larger artwork.

Prepare your surface