ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Arcade > General Arcade Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Acer 15Khz LCD Monitor
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Acer 15Khz LCD Monitor

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
iamjimmi View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Location: Leeds
Status: Offline
Points: 4147

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iamjimmi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Acer 15Khz LCD Monitor
    Posted: 15 Apr 2019 at 5:02pm
I really struggled finding an official spec for those Acer monitors. The wiki link shared by Big10p details Chunksin's model, but didn't include the HDMI model.

Thought I would try Acer's tech support... I knew that would be a bad call.

First issue - they can't give a spec for a model number - you must provide a serial number???!

So I bought an Acer monitor with HDMI and ran the S/N by them. No joy - tech support said no 15Khz support.

So I exchanged that monitor for the same model as Chunksin's V226HQLbid (UM. WV6EE. B04). And this time I sent the new serial number and Chunksin's (that he kindly sent to me). No joy - apparently the monitor that Chunksin can get a 15Khz signal does not support 15Khz. Neither does the one that I had just exchanged. Outstanding tech support...

So taking the Acer tech support advice with a pinch of salt, I opened the box and tried the monitor - no problem at all running a 15kHz signal.

A bit of a frustrating journey, but the ending is happy!

 


Edited by iamjimmi - 15 Apr 2019 at 5:04pm
Back to Top
DaytimeDreamer View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 28 Sep 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 266

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DaytimeDreamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 8:24pm
I got one of these monitors. When your i3 Dell arrives I'll see how it looks on one of these and also test if it's 15khz compatible.

Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 14121

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 8:15pm
Mine is the UM.WV6EE.B04 and has VGA and DVI inputs, not sure about the hdmi models. It displays a 4:3 image with bars at each side, the aspect is still slightly stretched horizontally but fine for what I need it for. If I was after one to play on properly I'd go for the Benq but this has best of both worlds for a 1080p desktop and 15khz
Back to Top
Sbdesign View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Location: Co. Durham
Status: Offline
Points: 1111

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sbdesign Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 5:55pm
Originally posted by guddler guddler wrote:

What am I missing here? The Acer monitor is 16:9. The BenQ 702A is the correct aspect ratio, 4:3. That's better, no?

Its more the correct shape being 5:4, but its not 4:3
I would have thought its better to answer the question.
WTD:       VIRTUA COP 1 SEGA 1994
Back to Top
iamjimmi View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Location: Leeds
Status: Offline
Points: 4147

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iamjimmi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 5:03pm
I could do with a windows monitor for home. And also need a 15khz for setting up Groovy. Once set up I would use Groovy in a cab. So for me, the Acer is the better option. But agree... If you want 4:3 go BenQ...
Back to Top
guddler View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Busting vectors like it's 1982!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 24 Sep 2000
Location: W.Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 39565

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote guddler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 4:56pm
What am I missing here? The Acer monitor is 16:9. The BenQ 702A is the correct aspect ratio, 4:3. That's better, no?

Amazon have them for £99. Thats pretty good for brand new monitors.

I have one of the BenQ's that I use for my Amiga since it displays the VGA output from the RTG graphics card AND the native 15.75Khz signal from the OCS / ECS chipset which it does at 50Hz with no tearing, albeit I would like scanlines but that's the nature of the beast with LCD. I would need to scan double the output and blank every other line but that's a project for another day.
Back to Top
deano76 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 27 May 2013
Location: County Durham
Status: Offline
Points: 883

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deano76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 4:47pm
Not sure if this is of any use but I used my Dell LCD model E170Sc the other day whilst setting up Chunksin's Groovy Time Plus on my MAME PC. It can display a 15KHz signal at 640x480 through the VGA port which was ideal for what I was doing.

Saved me getting the old Acorn multisync CRT monitor down from the loft !
Back to Top
iamjimmi View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Location: Leeds
Status: Offline
Points: 4147

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iamjimmi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 4:25pm
Quick question before I order...

Noted the Acer V226HQLbid has built in HDMI, which would save me buying an extra lead if I also used it with my work laptop.

But having trouble finding the VGA specs - any idea if the entire V226HQL range supports 15Khz via VGA?



Edited by iamjimmi - 05 Apr 2019 at 4:25pm
Back to Top
iamjimmi View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2013
Location: Leeds
Status: Offline
Points: 4147

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iamjimmi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 3:30pm
Thanks for reporting back. Ebay is full of them... Buy it now here I come..
Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 14121

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2019 at 12:44pm
It arrived and works great! no problems displaying 15Khz resolutions, I've tested 60, 59 and 57Hz so far and it displays the image fine with smooth scrolling and no tearing. Of course you get the usual LCD blockiness and soft image but for testing this is great!
Back to Top
penrhos View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Location: Leicester - UK
Status: Offline
Points: 1591

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote penrhos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2019 at 7:28am
I've had a few Dell 2001FP's and they're great - easy to de-case if you want to replace a knackered CRT with one....


Back to Top
grobda View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar
"Look at the size of that thing!"

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 04 Aug 2010
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 3594

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grobda Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 11:47pm
ive got an acer g246hl that works well in 15khz - 24", 1080p,2ms response time according to the box
sporadically obsessed with this sh*t
Back to Top
ShinraArcade View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2019
Location: Surrey
Status: Offline
Points: 103

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShinraArcade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:40pm
Originally posted by Brettster Brettster wrote:

I have a Dell 4:3 LCD that does 15 Khz but only with Composite and Svideo inputs :( VGA is still 31Khz
 

This is my finding as well I have an HP and an AOC which are 15Khz but only via comp.

Back to Top
Brettster View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jun 2015
Location: Leeds, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 2150

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brettster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 6:17pm
I have a Dell 4:3 LCD that does 15 Khz but only with Composite and Svideo inputs :( VGA is still 31Khz
Looking for More Space!!
Back to Top
2huwman View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 817

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2huwman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 5:47pm
I'll give it a try with air buster - if it can handle that fast parallax scrolling smoothly then that'll be an achievement!
Message me if you need a JAMMA Cab-ready 15Khz MAME PC!

https://www.arcadepcs.com/
Back to Top
Flinnster View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 04 Sep 2016
Location: Surrey, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 5723

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flinnster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 5:44pm
I have yet to see a flat panel that doesn't tear like a crazy mofo when displaying low res console output, which is effectively 15Khz of course.
Change my mind! Big smileWink


WTD: Outrun DLX cab, Rolling Thunder pcb
Parts WTD: Dino King Door, Coin Box, Coin Chute
Back to Top
2huwman View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 817

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2huwman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 4:18pm
Originally posted by Chunksin Chunksin wrote:

Originally posted by 2huwman 2huwman wrote:

Yeah, it's worth getting one of these if you do a lot with groovymame etc. 

I got a BenQ BL702A which is a 17" 1280x1024 LCD. They come up occasionally on Amazon Warehouse for £30. It does 15KHz and saves a lot of hassle with CRTemudriver 2.0! Displays all sorts of resolutions that most LCDs don't. 


Thanks Rich, I searched for that one but couldn't find one at a decent price. Just been updating my groovymame image and getting grief for hogging the dining table with monitors!

yeah, they do seem to be pricey new - £100 on CPC. it's worth checking on amazon warehouse every so often as they're cheap when they have them. response time of 5ms, so could be worse. 
Message me if you need a JAMMA Cab-ready 15Khz MAME PC!

https://www.arcadepcs.com/
Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 14121

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 2:57pm
Originally posted by 2huwman 2huwman wrote:

Yeah, it's worth getting one of these if you do a lot with groovymame etc. 

I got a BenQ BL702A which is a 17" 1280x1024 LCD. They come up occasionally on Amazon Warehouse for £30. It does 15KHz and saves a lot of hassle with CRTemudriver 2.0! Displays all sorts of resolutions that most LCDs don't. 


Thanks Rich, I searched for that one but couldn't find one at a decent price. Just been updating my groovymame image and getting grief for hogging the dining table with monitors!
Back to Top
big10p View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!

First Year of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Location: Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 7679

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote big10p Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 2:52pm
Just stumbled across this list of 15khz monitors.

WANTED: Sega Cash Cube CP end plate. Click me for details!
Back to Top
2huwman View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 817

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2huwman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 2:42pm
Yeah, it's worth getting one of these if you do a lot with groovymame etc. 

I got a BenQ BL702A which is a 17" 1280x1024 LCD. They come up occasionally on Amazon Warehouse for £30. It does 15KHz and saves a lot of hassle with CRTemudriver 2.0! Displays all sorts of resolutions that most LCDs don't. 
Message me if you need a JAMMA Cab-ready 15Khz MAME PC!

https://www.arcadepcs.com/
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.281 seconds.