ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Operation thunderbolt pcb
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Operation thunderbolt pcb

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Operation thunderbolt pcb
    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 at 10:48pm
Hi

For the corona shut down I have dug out my operation thunderbolt pcb to repair. When i first got it there was no sound. So I left it for a month, plugged it in again and it had a graphics problem. So it ended on the 'when I get the time' jobs.

Mission 1 - Repair graphics problem and restore hope

1 year later here I am.
Setup as follows

Graphic problem

I did some googling and someone had a similar problem and it was a broken/corroded address line track.
So I checked mine with an oscilloscope from source to eeprom and all looked good.
The question is what to check next?
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2020 at 7:25pm
I check all the address and data lines then realised that i was in the sprite graphics area. Doh

I then check the background Mask rom area and still all seems to be fine.



I popped the Mask rom out and read the chip. It did not compare with the Mame rom.

I ordered a replacement 27C400. It came this weekend.

Programmed it up and success. Tongue





Mission 2 - Get the sound working.

I am going to read all the EPROM and Mask roms first.
Back to Top
paulcan69 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar
Can reburn OTP EPROMs! Fear my power!

Joined: 24 Jun 2010
Location: Essex U.K
Status: Offline
Points: 2186

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulcan69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 5:55am
How did you read it
As what chip?
Need to look at my faulty spare pcb
Thanks
And well done!!
Arcade Otaku name: paulcan69

ebay name: paulcan2
Back to Top
TheDaddy View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2018
Location: uk
Status: Offline
Points: 2656

Feedback: 4.8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheDaddy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 9:19am
Originally posted by paulcan69 paulcan69 wrote:

How did you read it
As what chip?
Need to look at my faulty spare pcb
Thanks
And well done!!
 

You need an adapter and read the banks separately as 512 using 27C4096. Then merge them to read & verify. TL866 good for this.

Dave.


Edited by TheDaddy - 20 Apr 2020 at 9:20am
AKA Wonderboy. If there is such a thing as reincarnation , knowing my luck , I will come back as me !!
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 12:45pm
I used a galep 4.
Back to Top
paulcan69 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar
Can reburn OTP EPROMs! Fear my power!

Joined: 24 Jun 2010
Location: Essex U.K
Status: Offline
Points: 2186

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulcan69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2020 at 8:32pm
Yeah I’ve got a galep 4
How do you read em
Can you write em?
Let me know if you don’t mind
I have an op thunder to fix
And need to read and write a couple of them for sure
One has already died and someone has put a custom in there
Like an adapter and newer style repo of it
Thanks in advance
Arcade Otaku name: paulcan69

ebay name: paulcan2
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 2020 at 12:54pm
The sprite mask roms B67-01 to 05 are MN234000 (fujitsu I think) and can be read using a 27C400 device.
The background mask rom B67-06 is a MN234000 (fujitsu I think) and can be read using a 27C400 device.
The sound mask roms B67-07& 08 are MB834100 and can be read using 27C4096 device.
The sound EPROM B67-13 is a 27C512
The main programme EPROM B67-14,15,20 & 23 are 27C1001
Back to Top
paulcan69 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar
Can reburn OTP EPROMs! Fear my power!

Joined: 24 Jun 2010
Location: Essex U.K
Status: Offline
Points: 2186

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulcan69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 2020 at 5:39pm
Your a legend thank you
Took a picture of that and I can spend some time soon looking at that
Thanks to your reply
Arcade Otaku name: paulcan69

ebay name: paulcan2
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 4:54pm
So I read all of the mask roms and eprom and compared them to the mame roms and all looks good.

Now I get some background hum through the speaker and when I turn the volume up, it gets louder. This suggest the analogue amp is working.

Next I checked the yamaham sound chip YM2610 for serial data output, which was only a steady pulse, not much going on there. Then checked the analog out and it was just a constant 1v. So the YM2610 is not ouputing any sound. Checked the IRQ, which was constantly high.

I then moved back to the Z80, clockpulse working, RD & WR had activity but the address and data line looked very samey ie data there but not changing.

So I think it is either the Z80 or the RAM.

I am going to change the z80 first easier to get hold of instead of the Sony CXK5864BSP-10L RAM.
Back to Top
Mc-Q View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Sep 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 23

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mc-Q Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2020 at 3:13pm
6264 ram (or 62256) should be easy to find

Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2020 at 9:59pm
So I changed the z80 and it made no difference.
I then changed the ram and final got output on the serial data from the Ym2610. I check with an audio probe and could hear the speech.

But still no speaker sound apart from the very faint serial data output at full volume.

Checked the YM3016 DAC and there was no output from ch1 or ch2.

So replaced the YM3016, thinking it was faulty.

No change. So I am a little stuck. What is stopping the YM3016 outputting?
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2020 at 10:09pm
I have studied that data sheet for the YM3016 and I should get analogue out of the 'to BUFF' Nothing.

So I check the input timings.


The Sam 1&2 are alternative and look clean but I do not know if the clock signal from the YM2610 is right.


Can anyone confirm if this is OK?
Back to Top
trm View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
Who loves you, and who do you love?

Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Location: USSR
Status: Offline
Points: 5758

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2020 at 11:40pm
Originally posted by webster007 webster007 wrote:


The Sam 1&2 are alternative and look clean but I do not know if the clock signal from the YM2610 is right.

Which trace on the scope is coming from the clock? If it's the upper then (without knowing the deflection or timebase settings) it looks like it might be good enough as a clk wave.

What deflection/timebase was that taken at? If you have another picture which isn't for ants I'll have a look :)
There'll be no accusations,
Just friendly crustaceans,
Under the seaaaaaa!
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2020 at 12:40pm
Yes, here is a close up.



The settings are 2v and 0.2 microseconds.
Back to Top
trm View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
Who loves you, and who do you love?

Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Location: USSR
Status: Offline
Points: 5758

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2020 at 11:22pm
Cheers dude. That looks like it should be a good clk.

Just off to grab the Op Thunder schems and will have a look to see if I can suggest anything useful.
There'll be no accusations,
Just friendly crustaceans,
Under the seaaaaaa!
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2020 at 1:25pm
The only other chip linked to the 3016 is the ls074 op amp. Normally very reliable. But cheap to replace. So I will try swapping this out.
Back to Top
webster007 View Drop Down
User
User


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Location: norwich
Status: Offline
Points: 185

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote webster007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2020 at 7:45pm
Well replaced the LS074CN and nothing.

There must be something missing but I do not know what.

I will check out every pin on the 3016 and report.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.875 seconds.